Michigan Wage Loss Benefits And Guide

Written by Steven Matz on . Posted in , .

You may be wondering what to do if you have lost your wages in Michigan.  

In this guide we’re going to cover all of your questions, including over Michigan wage loss reimbursement limits, how to calculate self-employed benefits, what to do if you can’t work for more than three years, and more!

What We Will Cover in This Wage Loss Guide

  • Wage Loss Reimbursement Limits From Insurance
  • Calculating Self Employed No-Fault Benefits
  • Auto Related Injury Prevents Work For Three + Years
  • Collecting Wage Loss If Fired Before Accident
  • Can a College Student Who Had Worked in The Summer Collect Wage Loss if Injured in an Auto Accident During The School Year?

Wage Loss Reimbursement Limits From Insurance

Is there a limit to how much wage loss reimbursement I can receive from my Michigan no-fault insurance carrier?

Yes. There are two limits on how much you can receive from your own insurance carrier after a motor vehicle collision. This is true whether you caused the collision, or someone else did. That’s why they call it “no-fault.” Remember: if the other driver WAS at fault, you may be eligible to collect additional wage benefits from their insurance, if your wage loss will exceed either or both of the limitations below:

  1. The maximum amount of work loss benefit you can collect from your own car insurance is $5,392 per month as of October 1, 2014. (This amount goes up slightly each year on October 1).
  2. These benefits last no longer than 3 years from the date of the accident.

The amount you might receive is calculated on the basis of 85% of the gross pay (before taxes are taken out) that you can prove you would have made if you had not been injured. So applicants who make more than about $75,000/year will get the maximum, but no more, from their own car insurance for wage loss each month that they can prove they are off work due to the accident.

Remember: If you make more than the limit, you are terribly injured and will be off work for more than three years, or both, you can sue the other driver to try to collect the balance IF the other driver was at fault.

As with any legal issue, this is only a summary, and there are many details about your situation that could go into determining how much wage loss you will receive, and for how long, from your insurance company after an automobile accident.

Calculating Self Employed No-Fault Benefits

The Michigan No-Fault Law states that an insured person will receive 85% of his or her gross income for up to three years from the date of the accident, provided that the insurance company agrees that the person is off work due to the accident. It is easy to figure out what 85% of a person’s gross pay is if that person takes home a regular paycheck. But how do the calculations work for people who are self-employed, or who are independent contractors who don’t draw a check from an employer?

The basic rule for self-employed people is that net wage loss is calculated by deducting business expenses from gross income. The amount that is leftover is the basis for making the 85% payment. Independent contractors, on the other hand, can apply for work loss benefits based upon their record of earnings for a reasonable time before the accident. They can also present evidence of lost opportunities for work during the time they will be disabled.

A common dilemma that many self-employed people face in no-fault wage loss situations is that the amount of “income” they receive is not significant. It is to the advantage of a small business owner to “expense” as many costs as possible to the business so that the taxable consequences to the business are favorable, and the personal tax consequences to the owner are minimized. However, the benefit of minimizing personal income for tax purposes becomes a negative when it is time to base no-fault reimbursement on your claimed wages.

Many of these cases come down to a battle between the accountant for the insurance company and the accountant a lawyer hires to examine the books of his or her client. It is important that you have detailed and clear records of your business bookkeeping and accounting if you want to argue with your car insurance company about how much wage loss reimbursement you should receive if you are self-employed or are an independent contractor.

Auto Related Injury Prevents Work For Three + Years

The Michigan No-Fault Law says that your own car insurance is first in line to pay your wage loss if you are hurt in a crash. This is true no matter who caused the accident. If you didn’t have car insurance yourself, there is a path set out in the law that you follow to decide who is going to pay these benefits.

No matter whose policy covers your wage loss claim, there are time limits regarding the maximum time in which you can receive wage loss coverage. There is also a limit as to how much per month you can receive.

We have cases where the injured person makes more than the monthly maximum that no-fault will pay, and whose injuries are so severe that it appears that the individual may never return to any job, or at least not to a job that pays as much as the one he or she had at the time of the crash. What can be done to seek compensation for those financial losses?

It is possible to sue the other driver for “excess economic loss.” This means financial losses above the monthly maximum (right now about $5400/month), beyond the three year benefit limit, or both. Whether the other driver is going to have enough coverage to pay that much is something a lawyer can help you figure out.

For the first three years after the accident, if you can prove 1) that you are disabled from work and 2) that you would be making more that the monthly maximum for as long as you are off work, your case against the other driver is relatively simple. Prove those two points and you win.

However, if your claim is that you are going to lose wages after the three-year wage loss legal time limit expires, things get a little more complicated. You have to be able to prove that you will (not might) be disabled for more than three years and that you will (not might) have earned a specific amount at that time if you had not been disabled by the accident.

The courts have consistently said that your excess wage loss claim is based on loss of income, not lost potential earnings. It’s the difference between what is going to happen, and what might happen.

If you are a higher-income earner who is injured in a motor vehicle accident in Michigan, don’t overlook your claim for excess wage loss reimbursement.

Collecting Wage Loss If Fired Before Accident

Can I collect wage loss from my car insurance if I had been fired before the accident?

This is a question that came up recently from a caller. The answer is “maybe.” Let’s say you were let go from your job a few weeks before you were hurt in a car crash. Your doctor says the injuries are severe enough that you would not be able to work for a time, even if you still had a job. If you can show that you had been making a good-faith effort to find a new job after you were fired, but before the accident (for example, you have a record of the places where you had applied), you can still apply for wage loss benefits on your insurance policy for the time you will be disabled.

On the other hand, if you can’t prove that you had been making a legitimate effort to find a new job between the time you were fired and the date of the accident, don’t expect your car insurance adjuster to pay you for work loss benefits.

As with most legal issues, there are details and other concerns that go into answering this question, so you should check with a lawyer who knows auto law in Michigan if you find yourself in this situation.

Can a College Student Who Had Worked in The Summer Collect Wage Loss if Injured in an Auto Accident During The School Year?

Yes, assuming that the student could prove that he or she would have been able to return to employment if not for being injured in the accident.

For example, let’s say Kim is a college student and a Michigan resident who qualifies for no-fault benefits under her parents’ policy. Kim is injured in a car accident while away at college. The accident happens in the spring, a few weeks before the semester is over, and is serious enough that Kim will be on crutches for most of the summer.

Let’s also say that last summer, Kim had a full-time job at a hardware store and that the owner of the store agrees that she would have hired Kim again this summer if Kim hadn’t been hurt.

With that kind of proof, Kim should qualify for wage loss reimbursement through her parents’ policy, based upon the rate of pay she received last year. Of course, if she recovers well enough during this summer to go to work before the beginning of the school year, she will do so, and the wage loss benefits will end.

The same principle applies to any workers who were temporarily unemployed at the time of the accident, but who have proof that they would have returned to work if the accident had not caused them to be disabled during some or all of the time that they would have worked.

Final Thoughts On Michigan Wage Loss Benefits

That wraps up our guide on what to do if you have lost your wages in Michigan.  For additional information on wage loss benefits or to speak with an experienced attorney, contact the lawyers at Matz Injury Law today by calling 1-866-22Not33 or by using our contact page.

Steven Matz

Written By Steven Matz

Steven Matz
Steven J. Matz is a founding shareholder of Matz Injury Law. The firm’s concentration is on personal injury litigation, with an emphasis on traumatic brain injury. Mr. Matz earned a Bachelor of Arts degree with high distinction and highest honors in 1974 from the University of Michigan and a Juris Doctor degree in 1977 from The George Washington University National Law Center. Mr. Matz lectures and publishes in a number of areas, including ethics, marketing, trial tactics, and head injury. Mr. Matz has served on the Michigan Association for Justice Executive Board and currently serves the Michigan Attorney Discipline Board as a Hearing Panel Chairman and Master. He is also a member of the State Bar Committee for Character and Fitness.
array digital logo
© Matz Injury Law.
The maximum contingency fee permitted by law is actually 33 1/3%. Michigan court rules require that the attorney fee be computed on the net sum recovered after deducting all disbursements properly chargeable to the enforcement of the claim.

What does 22not33 mean, exactly?

We can charge 22% while virtually all other injury attorneys charge 33 1/3% because we are very, very, good at obtaining results for our clients. 

We do not spend millions of dollars on television ads; instead, we offer a lower fee to all our clients.  We do not have dozens of lower paid associates handling our work. All our clients are represented by Steven and Jared Matz. Steven Matz started the firm in 1977 and since then has dedicated his life to representing injury victims.  Jared joined the firm in 2016 but grew up listening to stories, discussing theories, and generally learning at the dinner table about how to effectively and compassionately represent injury victims. Jared Matz was literally born to represent individuals involved in motor vehicle crashes.

All of our cases are handled on a contingency fee and all our cases are handled at 22%. Whether the case settles or goes through trial, the fee does not change. While our competitors make excuses as to why they charge so much, we are obtaining results for our clients at a lower fee.

At a typical television advertising law firm, your first call will be handled by a receptionist, who may refer you to an intake person, who will discuss your claim with an intake manager, who then discusses your claim with an associate, who may then report to a partner. You may never speak with the person whose name is at the top of the letterhead. At Matz Injury Law you will always speak with either Steven Matz or Jared Matz.

Lets Talk Close window
WAIT! TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR LOWER RATE OF 22%

22 not 33

Other firms charge 33%
We win or you don't pay | 24/7 Team Support | Over 10k Cases Of Experience