Insurance Policy Limits in Michigan

Written by Steven Matz on . Posted in .

“What do the numbers such as ‘$20,000/$40,000’ mean on my insurance policy?”

A question that we are often asked (and usually too late, after someone has already had an injury accident) has to do with how much insurance coverage they have. This is especially important to know if the other driver caused a serious injury accident. For purposes of this posting, we will discuss only coverages that apply to pain and suffering damages.

Look At Your Car Insurance Policy

Take a look at the sheet that comes with your car insurance policy every time you renew. This is called the “declarations page” because it lists (declares) the amounts and types of coverages you have chosen, as well as how much you are paying for each.

You are covered up to the amount shown on the “bodily injury” or “personal liability” line on the declaration page. This is usually the first category listed on the sheet. You will see a code that says something like “20/40” or “100,000/300,000 per occurrence.” Occasionally, the line will read something like “250,000 single limit,” or “250,000/250,000.” What does all that mean?

Bodily injury coverage applies to the person who caused the accident. It is the maximum the insurance policy will pay, no matter how badly the at-fault driver injures someone. In the example of $20,000/$40,000 coverage, the driver who caused the accident has insurance that will pay up to $20,000 for any one person who is injured due to the fault of a covered driver, and up to a total of $40,000 for two or more victims.

Single limit coverage means that the policy covers up to a particular amount, and the victims can dispute among themselves how to split it up, it they qualify.

This doesn’t mean that the insurance automatically pays that much if the insured driver hurts someone-it’s simply the maximum that will be paid out. After that, the at-fault driver, which could be you, is on his or her own for damages above the coverage limits.

Uninsured/ Underinsured Coverage

Now take a look at the line that says “Uninsured/Underinsured” coverage. Again, there will usually be an entry such as “$100,00/$300,000 per occurrence.” This means that you have coverage up to those amounts if you are injured by a driver who doesn’t have any insurance (uninsured), or who has less coverage that the amount you are carrying for this category (underinsured). Once again, you don’t automatically get these amounts if you are injured—you have to file a claim, or even a lawsuit, and fight to prove what you are entitled to. Lawyers call this “UM/UIM” coverage.

Michigan law requires that you carry a minimum of $20,000 per victim and $40,000 total on your liability coverage. That is not much coverage, and it doesn’t go very far if you cause a serious accident. Over and above those amounts, you may be personally liable to pay additional damages, and depending upon the circumstances, you may not be eligible to declare bankruptcy and try to escape financial judgments for damages above your policy limits.

It has been many years since this portion of the insurance code was changed-we certainly believe that everyone should carry as much liability coverage as they can afford, and should have at least $100,000 uninsured/underinsured coverage, too. Take a look at how inexpensive UM/UIM coverage is compared to the other items you pay for on your car insurance bill. It makes sense to buy a lot of UM/UIM coverage. You are insuring yourself and your family against the rest of the driving public doing something careless and causing you harm. Often, the worst drivers also have the least insurance-or none at all. Protect yourself—buy lots of UM/UIM!

Understand Michigan Policy Rules

You should go over your policy and make sure you have the types and amounts of coverage that will protect you if you cause a serious accident, or if you are involved in an accident that is the fault of a driver who either does not have much coverage, or who may have none at all. Now that you know what the numerical codes mean, this should be easier to do, and simpler to price out.

Written By Steven Matz

Steven J. Matz is a founding shareholder of Matz Injury Law. The firm’s concentration is on personal injury litigation, with an emphasis on traumatic brain injury. Mr. Matz earned a Bachelor of Arts degree with high distinction and highest honors in 1974 from the University of Michigan and a Juris Doctor degree in 1977 from The George Washington University National Law Center. Mr. Matz lectures and publishes in a number of areas, including ethics, marketing, trial tactics, and head injury. Mr. Matz has served on the Michigan Association for Justice Executive Board and currently serves the Michigan Attorney Discipline Board as a Hearing Panel Chairman and Master. He is also a member of the State Bar Committee for Character and Fitness.
array digital logo
© Matz Injury Law.
The maximum contingency fee permitted by law is actually 33 1/3%. Michigan court rules require that the attorney fee be computed on the net sum recovered after deducting all disbursements properly chargeable to the enforcement of the claim.

What does 22not33 mean, exactly?

We can charge 22% while virtually all other injury attorneys charge 33 1/3% because we are very, very, good at obtaining results for our clients. 

We do not spend millions of dollars on television ads; instead, we offer a lower fee to all our clients.  We do not have dozens of lower paid associates handling our work. All our clients are represented by Steven and Jared Matz. Steven Matz started the firm in 1977 and since then has dedicated his life to representing injury victims.  Jared joined the firm in 2016 but grew up listening to stories, discussing theories, and generally learning at the dinner table about how to effectively and compassionately represent injury victims. Jared Matz was literally born to represent individuals involved in motor vehicle crashes.

All of our cases are handled on a contingency fee and all our cases are handled at 22%. Whether the case settles or goes through trial, the fee does not change. While our competitors make excuses as to why they charge so much, we are obtaining results for our clients at a lower fee.

At a typical television advertising law firm, your first call will be handled by a receptionist, who may refer you to an intake person, who will discuss your claim with an intake manager, who then discusses your claim with an associate, who may then report to a partner. You may never speak with the person whose name is at the top of the letterhead. At Matz Injury Law you will always speak with either Steven Matz or Jared Matz.

Lets Talk Close window
WAIT! TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR LOWER RATE OF 22%

22 not 33

Other firms charge 33%
We win or you don't pay | 24/7 Team Support | Over 10k Cases Of Experience